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Background InformationBackground Information

The purpose of this release is to advise social services districts that
in order to obtain Family Type Homes for Adults (FTHA) certification,
applicants and operators of Family Type Homes for Adults must prove that
they have obtained Workers' Compensation and disability benefits coverage,
or that such coverage is not required under New York State Worker's
Compensation Law.

Section 461-b(2)(a) of Social Services Law (SSL) allows approval to
operate an adult care facility such as a FTHA only to an operator who
satisfactorily demonstrates that any license or permit required by law for
the operation of such facility has been issued to such operator. Section
460-e(1) permits the New York State Office of Children and Family Services
(OCFS) to require an operator of a Family Type Home for Adults to provide
such information and records in such form and at such times as this Office
shall determine for the purpose of establishing and maintaining such
facilities.

The New York State Workers' Compensation Law Section 57 and Section
220.8 of the Disability Benefits Law requires that prior to issuance of a
certificate to operate a Family Type Home for Adults by the SOCFS, the
applicant/operator must submit proof that the operator has obtained the
required workers' compensation and disability benefits insurance coverage
for any substitute caretakers in the operator's employ, or that the operator
is not required to provide such coverage. This law applies both to issuance
of new certificates and renewal of such certificates.

The information in this release addresses the requirements necessary for
operators and districts to comply with these laws and submit the required
documentation to OCFS to obtain an operating certificate.

Workers Compensation and Disability Benefits Coverage RequirementsWorkers Compensation and Disability Benefits Coverage Requirements

a. Who Must be Covered

The New York State Workers' Compensation Board has determined that
Workers' Compensation Law requires workers' compensation insurance coverage
for any Family Type Home for Adults employing "substitute caretakers."
Workers' Compensation Law requires that all workers in this industry must be
covered by workers' compensation insurance coverage regardless of the number
of hours worked, the workers' relationship to the owners, or whether workers
are "volunteering" their services for the family business. Since under
Social Services Law only natural persons may operate a Family Type Homes for
Adults, the only exclusion that may be made for Workers' Compensation and
Disability Benefits is a family type home owned by one individual with no
employees.
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b. Liability for Operators

Under Section 26-a of the Workers' Compensation Law, employers who do
not obtain appropriate workers' compensation insurance coverage may be
personally liable for the following:

° paying an assessment of $250 for each claim incurred while uninsured,
plus 15% of the amount awarded (minimum $1,500 - maximum of $5,000);

° paying the actual award, including both compensation and medical
costs;

° any penalties the Workers' Compensation Board assesses for
noncompliance. There is a series of penalties for noncompliance with
the Workers' compensation Law, including a $250 penalty for every 10
days without the required coverage.

Activities Required to Comply withActivities Required to Comply with
Workers' Compensation and Disability Benefits LawWorkers' Compensation and Disability Benefits Law

a. District Responsibilities

1) Family Type Home Coordinators or other local district staff who are
involved in the FTHA program certification or renewal process must
become knowledgeable about the provisions of this release to ensure
that the required Workers' Compensation and Disability Benefit
Insurance coverage certification accompanies each Family Type Home
for Adults application which they submit to the OCFS.

2) Social services districts must inform FTHA applicants and operators
of Workers' Compensation and Disability Benefit certification
requirements prior to certification or renewal of Family Type Homes
for Adults operating certificates.

No operating certificate will be issued without proof of Workers'
Compensation Insurance , as required by the Workers' Compensation
Board, being forwarded to the social services district.

b. Operator Responsibilities

1) To comply with coverage provisions of the Workers' Compensation Law
Disability Benefits Law requirements, Family Type Home operators
must:

- be legally exempt from having to obtain worker's compensation
insurance coverage;

- obtain such coverage from insurance carriers; or,

- be self insured.
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b. Operator's Responsibilities, Continued

2) Family Type Home applicants requesting certification or certified
operators requesting renewal of their certificates must provide one
of the following forms to the local district with their
application. The Workers' Compensation form must accompany the
districts' submission of the application to the New York State
Office of Children and Family Services:

° C-105.21 Statement that Applicant Does not Require
Workers' Compensation Nor Disability Benefits Coverage; (see
Attachment I to this release)

OROR

° C-105.2 Certificate of Workers' Compensation Insurance
(Attachment II) - AND- AND -- DB 120.1 Certificate
of Disability Benefits Insurance ( Attachment III);

OROR

° SI-12 Certificate of Workers' Compensation Self-Insurance
(Attachment IV) or GSI-12 Certificate of Group Workers'
Compensation Self-Insurance -- AND -AND - DB-155
Certificate of Disability Benefits Self Insurance
(Attachment V)

.

For those operators insured by the State Insurance Fund, it is
acceptable for districts to receive a computer generated form, U-
26.3, in the place of prescribed form C-105.2 (sample attached, see
Attachment VI).

3) Operators may obtain forms from the New York State Workers'
Compensation Board District Offices:

Albany (518) 486-3349
Binghamton (607) 721-8333
New York City (718) 802-6890
Buffalo (716) 847-6890
Hempstead (516) 560-7742
Rochester (716) 238-8335
Syracuse (315) 428-4455

4) Applicants for Approval or Operators of Family Type Homes for Adults
who have any questions regarding Section 57 of Workers' Compensation
Law or Section 220.8 of the Disability Benefits Law should call the
New York State Workers' Compensation Board, Bureau of Compliance at
(518) 486-6307.
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The requirement to submit a certificate of Workers' Compensation and
Disability Benefits Insurance coverage with all new and renewal applications
is effective immediately.

In the future, the Application for Approval FTHA (DSS-2865) will be
revised to indicate that certification of Workers' Compensation and
Disability Benefits insurance coverage is a required document for all new
and renewal applications.

No Family Type Home for Adults operating certificate will be issued
without proof of Workers' Compensation and Disability Benefits Insurance
coverage effective immediately.

___________________________________
Donald K. Smith
Acting Deputy Commissioner
Development and Prevention Services


