+-----+ | LOCAL COMMISSIONERS MEMORANDUM | +-----+ DSS-4037EL (Rev. 9/89) Transmittal No: 97 LCM-20 Date: February 28, 1997 Division: Commissioner's Office

TO: Local District Commissioners

SUGGESTED DISTRIBUTION: Income Maintenance Directors Employment Coordinators Food Stamp Coordinators

SUBJECT: Waiver of Food Stamp ABAWD Eligibility Requirements

ATTACHMENTS: None

Governor Pataki has directed the Department of Social Services to seek a waiver from USDA of the food stamp able-bodied adult without dependents (ABAWD) requirements in those areas where the unemployment rate is in excess of 10% by USDA standards, or in civil jurisdictions which meet USDA guidelines for designation as a labor surplus area. If approved by USDA, the waivers will be effective from November 22, 1996 to November 21, 1997 in the designated areas unless the chief elected official of the county or the mayor of New York City declines the waiver.

The State may self-certify areas which meet USDA guidelines for designation as having an unemployment rate of 10 percent or higher. Therefore, a waiver for Bronx and Hamilton counties, which meet these guidelines, is effective immediately unless the mayor of New York City or the chief elected official of Hamilton County choose to decline this waiver. Date February 28, 1997

Trans. No. 97 LCM-20

The civil jurisdictions of the State which meet the designation of a labor surplus area are identified below. The State must await approval from USDA for waivers of the ABAWD requirement in these areas. Affected local districts will be notified as soon as waiver approval is received. In the meantime, chief elected officials should consider whether or not they will choose to decline the waiver.

ELIGIBLE LABOR SURPLUS AREAS

ALLEGANY COUNTY AUBURN CITY BINGHAMTON CITY BRONX COUNTY BUFFALO CITY CATTARAUGUS COUNTY CHENANGO COUNTY CLINTON COUNTY CORTLAND COUNTY ELMIRA CITY ESSEX COUNTY FRANKLIN COUNTY FULTON COUNTY GREENE COUNTY HAMILTON COUNTY HEMPSTEAD VILLAGE KINGS COUNTY LEWIS COUNTY MONTGOMERY COUNTY MOUNT VERNON CITY NEW YORK COUNTY NEWBURGH CITY NIAGARA FALLS CITY ORLEANS COUNTY OSWEGO COUNTY POUGHKEEPSIE CITY QUEENS COUNTY RICHMOND COUNTY ROCHESTER CITY SCHENECTADY CITY ST LAWRENCE COUNTY SYRACUSE CITY TROY CITY UTICA CITY BALANCE OF WARREN COUNTY WATERTOWN CITY WYOMING COUNTY

## CIVIL JURISDICTIONS INCLUDED

ALLEGANY COUNTY AUBURN CITY IN CAYUGA COUNTY BINGHAMTON CITY IN BROOME COUNTY BRONX COUNTY BUFFALO CITY IN ERIE COUNTY CATTARAUGUS COUNTY CHENANGO COUNTY CLINTON COUNTY CORTLAND COUNTY ELMIRA CITY IN CHEMUNG COUNTY ESSEX COUNTY FRANKLIN COUNTY FULTON COUNTY GREENE COUNTY HAMILTON COUNTY HEMPSTEAD VILLAGE IN NASSAU COUNTY BALANCE OF JEFFERSON COUNTY JEFFERSON COUNTY LESS WATERTOWN CITY KINGS COUNTY LEWIS COUNTY MONTGOMERY COUNTY MOUNT VERNON CITY IN WESTCHESTER COUNTY NEW YORK COUNTY NEWBURGH CITY IN ORANGE COUNTY NIAGARA FALLS CITY IN NIAGARA COUNTY ORLEANS COUNTY OSWEGO COUNTY POUGHKEEPSIE CITY IN DUTCHESS COUNTY QUEENS COUNTY RICHMOND COUNTY ROCHESTER CITY IN MONROE COUNTY SCHENECTADY CITY IN SCHENECTADY COUNTY ST LAWRENCE COUNTY SYRACUSE CITY IN ONONDAGA COUNTY TROY CITY IN RENSSELAER COUNTY UTICA CITY IN ONEIDA COUNTY WARREN COUNTY LESS QUEENSBURY TOWN WATERTOWN CITY IN JEFFERSON COUNTY WYOMING COUNTY

Date February 28, 1997

Trans. No. 97 LCM-20

Districts listed in this LCM which choose to participate in the waiver should refrain from acting upon the ABAWD eligibility requirement until further clarification is received from the Departments. Notices of adverse action related to ABAWD eligibility should be held in abeyance, while notices which have already been sent should be withdrawn. Districts may, however, continue to assign ABAWDs to employment programs or offer them opportunities to meet the eligibility requirement.

A copy of this LCM is being sent to chief elected officials of affected counties Upstate and to the mayor of New York City.

If you have any questions please contact Mike Leonard at 518 485-6996.

John E. Sweeney Commissioner Department of Labor Brian J. Wing Acting Commissioner Department of Social Services